Monthly Wrap Ups

February Wrap Up – !!21 books!! + read-a-thon, & failing YARC?

month wrap up final

this wrap up is like my ‘contemporary-a-thon reads ft. a couple other books’ bc after contemporary-a-thon i basically had a burnout and didn’t touch books for like 5 days, it was an Experience and not a good one. 10/10 people wouldn’t recommend.

i jest though, because in reality, i read 21 BOOKS IN 28 DAYS!??!??!!?

W H A T

i am concerned for myself (and my social life) bc aside from the readathon, i didnt feel like i was pushing myself to read?? how does this make sense??

actually, the answer, as you will see, is ~*audiobooks*~

freaking life savers, those things.

and okay, let’s talk about YARC which will be represented with this emoji: 🍚

my goal is to read 50+ YARC books over the year, and while that will only come up to around 5 books a month,,,,,,,,i’ve only managed to read 4 books by asian authors so far.

i know, i know, it’s bad. but i’m already working on fixing that tragedy in march. i will get moving and i will rise above my laziness, just you watch

in the unlikely even that you care, you can see my progress and mini reviews HERE (where i express myself in an obnoxious amount of emojis)

onto the monthly wrap up:

flower watercolour

I read a total of 21 books. 7 physical books 📕, 8 e-books 📱, and 6 audiobooks 🎧
Links will take you to my reviews for each book.

Image result for king of scarsImage result for dear heartbreak Image result for finnikin of the rock Image result for the alloy of lawRelated image

 

 

📱 King of Scars: ✦✦✦✦✧ (3.5 stars)

honestly, i’m kind of disappointed in how this turned out, especially that ending, meh. i think my expectations were a liiiitle too high but i adore the characters (nikolai, zoya, genya, my heart)

📱 Dear Heartbreak: ✦✦✧✧✧

did NOT feel this one. it was a nice effort but i found it becoming redundant very early on.

📕 Finnikin of the Rock: ✦✦✦✦✦ (reread)

idk why i love doing this to myself, but i cried a lot

🎧 The Alloy of Law: ✦✦✦✦✦ (4.5 stars)

THIS BOOK WAS SO FUN TO READ

i was a little worried because era 1 of mistborn set SUCH a standard and i was worried era 2 would be boring in comparison but this book was just a ball of fun. i loved the characters, the action, and the banter was fantastic.

📱 Bright Side: ✦✦✦✦✧

honestly, this book reads VERY early NA and i was almost sure it was going to be a miss for me until i read the last 100 pages and cried my eyes out. the characters are really what make this book shine.

flower watercolour

Image result for we are the antsRelated image

Image result for my so called bollywood life

Image result for once and always

Image result for bridge of clay

 

 

 

🎧 Bridge of Clay: ✦✦✧✧✧ (1.5 stars)

uhhhhh, what’s the purpose of this book?? 1.5 stars bc i love penelope and the ending made me feel all soft and fuzzy but the rest of the book was a mess.

📱 Once and Always: ✦✦✦✦✦ (4.5 stars)

okay i can clearly see that this book has flaws but it was so entertaining, i just couldnt put it down.

📕 My So-Called Bollywood Life: 🍚 ✦✦✦✧✧

filled with drama and romance and family and friendship. there were times when the characters were ridiculously dramatic and it was cheesy but overall i had a fun time reading it

📕 Snow in Love: ✦✦✦✧✧

there was a snowstorm outside and i needed a cute, cuddly read and the first & last story were exactly that (we don’t talk about the second and third stories)

SO. CUTE.

📱 We are the Ants: ✦✦✦✦✧ (4.5 stars)

wow this was so tragic. the characters felt so real and the atmosphere & writing were just so raw and emotional. really good

flower watercolourImage result for only love can break your heart coverImage result for someone i used to know by patty blountImage result for the subtle art of not giving a fImage result for gday gnightImage result for summer bird blue cover

 

 

 

📱 Only Love can Break Your Heart: ✦✦✧✧✧

i REALLY wanted to love this book with all my heart but i had a hard time connecting with the characters. it was very romance driven (and while i does show some really great character development) i wished it focused more on how the mc dealt with grief and overcoming that pain.

📕 Someone I Used to Know: ✦✦✦✦✧ (4.5 stars)

wow this book broke me. i really loved the message and content of this book. patty blount coming for my emotions once again.

🎧 The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F: ✦✦✦✧✧

i know this isnt an ACTUAL contemporary but i read it during the contemporary-a-thon and im counting it, fight me

really interesting ideas were presented in this book and i appreciated the humorous angle that the author chose. i didnt feel like the ideas were anything revolutionary but they were a nice reminder to hear.

📕 G’moning, G’night! ✦✦✦✧✧

this was so kind and soft and i just really liked it

📱 Summer Bird Blue: 🍚 ✦✦✦✧✧ (3.5 stars)

i loved the way grief was presented and dealt with by the main character. the emotions felt very real and very messy and while i felt like there were some pacing issues, i really liked it

flower watercolour

Image result for sofia khan is not obligedImage result for an american marriage

Image result for furiously happy

Image result for goodbye perfect

Image result for the enchanted

 

 

 

🎧 The Enchanted: ✦✦✦✦✦

this book was PHENOMENAL. i can’t remember the last time a book mystified me like this one. absolutely gripping and devastating and so so sad.

i still have SO MANY QUESTIONS. if anyone has read this book, LET ME KNOW YOUR THOUGHTS, it still haunts me to this day

📕 Goodbye Perfect: ✦✦✦✦✧

really well written and developed book on a very real issue. i loved the approach the author took and the way the story played out. it was engaging and entertaining and the message of the story was very clear.

🎧 Furiously Happy: ✦✦✦✧✧ (3.5 stars)

this book was ridiculously funny. the audiobook felt like an adventure and the author really balanced the book nicely in terms of serious mental health talk and random, hilarious anecdotes from her life.

🎧 An American Marriage: ✦✦✧✧✧ (2.5 stars)

i feel like this book had the potential to be INCREDIBLE but it just fell flat for me with the focus on the family drama. also my expectations were incredibly high, so maybe it was just self-sabotage.

📱 Sophia Khan is not Obliged: 🍚 ✦✧✧✧✧

this. was. awful.

i dont even know where to start but i really didnt like anything about this book. i found some of the humour kind of offensive and the main character was so juvenile, im sorry i just can’t

flower watercolour

Image result for ayesha at last

📕 Ayesha at Last: 🍚 ✦✦✧✧✧

again, this book had so much wasted potential. i LOVED the beginning, it was well written and entertaining and just enough angst and then the second half went and tried to do A MILLION THINGS and really took away from the story.

im so sad

flower watercolour

that’s what my february looked like. i’m actually really indecisive at the moment, but i feel like i want to *~rebrand~* my blog. is this at all encouraged by kat’s INCREDIBLE Blog Design Series??? Absolutely

BUT i can be lazy depending on my mood (and it sounds like a lot of work, my brain says) so WE’LL SEE if i manage to get to it, but it does sound like a really fabulous idea in my head.

okay, that’s all from me for now. i hope you’re all having an amazing month and you’re eating fries and staying happy

mayy

31 thoughts on “February Wrap Up – !!21 books!! + read-a-thon, & failing YARC?”

  1. I’m sorry to see you didn’t like Ayesha At Last. That one is on my TBR list but I’ve been a bit nervous about reading it since I’ve only recently started straying into adult books. But wow, it seems like you still had a great reading month overall! 21 books! I miss the days where I could read that much in a month.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank youu! Honestly Ayesha At Last had SUCH a strong start but it just went ALL over the place and some of the characters played a liiiiitle too much into stereotypes but i do hope it turns out to be a better read for you if you get to it! i know, im shocked too haha, i hope your reading is going well this month

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ooh Sophia Khan,,, yikes it sounds bad. i actually planned on maybe reading it but i just dont have time. also if you need help with *Rebranding* let me know! i’m useless AND very cool. 😎
    excuse me!! you read HOW many books? TWENTY ONE!? and i am not eating fries but i had some the other day so it counts. I HOPE YOUR MARCH IS GREAT!!! KEEP READING LOADS OF BOOKS AND SLAYING US ALL!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. im SO GOING TO TAKE YOU UP ON THE REBRANDING HELP, im going to need all the help i can get lol
      I HONESTLY DONT KNOW what am i doing with my life?? that totally counts, as long as your eating fries, it counts. THANK YOU QUEEN I HOPE YOURE HAVING AN AMAZING MONTH TOO!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ALL THE BOOKS AHHH, I’m just, ahhhh I think I might be in shock, SO MANY BOOKS. I’m happy you enjoyed the ones I want to read, My So-Called Bollywood Life and Summer Bird Blue! And yay for Goodbye, Perfect, I really enjoyed this one as well.
    Also aerm Kat’s series about branding and design and everything was sooooooooooo amazing Ioved it so very much and I’m here always if you decide to change or stay the same you’ll always be fabulous xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fjdkljaflkdja you’re making me SMILE SO MUCH stop this! ❤ ❤ kat is literally a blogging queen and shes so amazing
      you're gonna make me cry omg i love and appreciate you 💖💖

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel like the twitter reviews for YARC could have had MORE emojis?? Also, YOU’VE READ FINNIKIN OF THE ROCK?! I’ve owned it for years. I love Marchetta’s contemporary works, but just haven’t started this trilogy. Is it amazing? Should I drop everything I am currently reading? Help me, May!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hahahah honestly, i agree, never enough emojis
      YES I FINISHED FINNIKIN and im working on rereading froi and quintana too. i LOVE marchetta’s books so much and this series is REALLY slow, i must warn you but wow the plot twists and character development and all the pain is just incredibly written. IT’S SO GOOD. and whenever you do end up reading it I HOPE YOU LOVE IT AND I CANT WAIT TO HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS

      Liked by 1 person

  5. 21 books !!!!!!!!! Look at you go!! I’m truly so impressed. Also audiobooks really ARE lifesavers. I’ve spent years avoiding them but last month I finished my first one and now I love them sm. King of Scars was… kinda disappointing, I totally agree. Especially bc of that ending🙃 yikes. Oooh I’m so glad to hear you liked Bright Side though! I keep saying I’ll read that one day but haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’ll have to pick it up soon for sure.

    Hope you have a happy March filled with lots of good reads !! 💖💞💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahhhh thank you SO MUCH queeeen! audiobooks are the main reason why i get so much reading done, honestly. im so glad you started audiobooking and youre enjoying it, multitasking!!!
      yessss!! youre like the only other person that didnt like the ending and i FEEL you, totally didnt need that
      thank you so much 💖 i hope youre having an amazing month too!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow, your reading abilities are goals, girl! 21 books in a month? I still haven’t read 21 books yet this year!

    And oh no, I’m so sad to hear that you were disappointed by King of Scars and Ayesha at Last! They’re both on my TBR…

    Also, in regards to YARC and potentially rebranding your blog; you got this! Tho don’t stress yourself out over it, it’s not worth it; you are an amazing reader and blogger either way! ❤

    And yes, I have been happily eating fries! In fact, I was just doing so earlier today 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahhhh you’re making me smile too much, stop this!!
      oh noooo. i hope they both turn out better for you. you’re so kind omg what did i do to deserve this 😭😭😭 thank you so much, that’s such a sweet thing to hear, youre a GEM! 💖
      honestly, girl, youre living the good life!! lol

      Liked by 1 person

  7. 21 books is super impressive, really! And I completely trust you in switching the game for the next couple weeks and catching up on your YARC goal.
    I recently found out audiobooks and I’m so obsessed? They’re so convenient and mostly just entertaining. As much as I adore the reading experience, I’ve also been into audiobooks a lot, probably because all the narrators I got so far were pretty good.
    I think I’ll be picking up Summer Bird Blue if all my TBR choices go as planned, so I’m happy to know you’ve enjoyed it!
    Wishing you an amazing March! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahhh thank you so much!! im SO GLAD youre enjoying audiobooking, that’s so good to hear. it’s honestly so convenient for getting reading in when you “shouldn’t” be lol gotta multitask. which audiobooks were your favourites?
      can’t wait to hear your thoughts on summer bird blue, it was a good book!
      thank you so much 💖 hope your month is going amazing too

      Liked by 1 person

      1. i loved the audiobook for odd one out, by nic stone! even if i had a couple problems with the story itself, the narrators were amazing – especially the one for cooper. i know he narrates dear martin too, so i’d definitely recommend the audiobooks for those ones if you have never read them but are interested in!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I can’t remember a time where I read 21 books in a month. That is literally so many! and so impressive! and wow, it’s so cool to dive into 21 different stories in a month! to even think about that. I love Melina Marchettas books so much! I totally get why you’re doing that to yourself lol. It’s worth it, for sure. The tears, the love. I’m excited to read The Enchanted because apparently it’s about death row somehow?? and i’m really intrigued.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahhh thank you so much!! i seriously need to stop ignoring life so much but reading is just so much more appealing. melina marchetta is one of my all time favourite authors, her contemporary books cause me so much pain (in a good way lol)
      i can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the enchanted. it was such a powerful book, i hope you love it as much as i did. and i hope youre having an amazing month ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh I know what you mean about Kat – she puts us all to shame and I have been meaning to change my blog for so long yet I don’t have the talent / energy / time to do it hahaha Hope you have better luck with it!
    As for the wrap up, yes ma’am AUDIOBOOKS. I can’t stress it enough, they will literally change any blogger’s game (and also become a hermit helps so don’t feel bad, we’ve all done it)
    Congrats on a spectacular read count! (too bad not all of them were all that great but oh well)
    I hope March is being such as kind to you in the reading and personal departments 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol i GET you so much. i spent pretty much the entirety of march going back and forth with ‘should i change my blog but its going to take so much time and work’ the lazy life is real

      fhjdahf YOU GET MY AUDIOBOOK CRAZE!! yesss being an audiobooking hermit is actually my life goal
      thank you so much sweetie, sorry i couldnt reply earlier, im such a mess but i hope you had an amazing march and your april is even more fantasy ❤ ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. ok what the hell, i haven’t read majority of books on this list, i need to rectify this immediately, i can’t let you down like dis.
    honestly tho, i’d read lin manuel miranda’s grocery list and cry over it

    Like

Leave a comment