Tuesday Top 10s

Top 10 ‘If you Love…’ Book Recommendations (but part 2)

tuesday top 10s final

at this point 80% of my personality is just me screaming at my friends to read my favourite books so what better idea than to write post entirely focused on recommending MORE books to everyone (this is what i do best, im sorry you have to put up with me)

i made a part 1 of this some time ago, so if youre somehow still miraculously looking for recommendations, you should totally check that one out (or like message me??? plz???)

if you hated any of these books then i’d ask you to reconsider your rating bc it’ll make me cry and do you really want to make a smol, nice (most of the time), sweet angel child cry?

no, i didnt think so.

glad we had this talk.

also it took me wayyyyy to long to make this, so the best way to appreciate all my hard work would be to 5 star all the books featured below πŸ™‚

flower watercolour

a1

even though these books take place in two TOTALLY different times (one being very historic and the other being very modern) they both feature a murder mystery, top quality banter, a cute dorky boy, and lots of madness.

honestly why wouldn’t you wanna pick them up?

flower watercolour

a2

OKAY so renegades was sadly a tragedy. i expected so much more from it and with my expectations so high (due to the masterpiece that is the lunar chronicles) it was only natural that i’d be disappointed

but you know which superhero/villain book was all my hopes and dreams??

you got it.

now go read it.

flower watercolour

a4

Both these books are like the guilty-pleasure kinda fantasy reads that, you know are littered with cliches and the whole love-overcomes-all charade is practically the main theme

but

theyre just so entertaining you don’t care that youre trash for it (i’ll speak for myself, sorry)

flower watercolour

a3

THIS RECOMMENDATION IS ACTUALLY TITLED

“IF YOU ENJOY BREATHING OXYGEN, THEN YOU’LL LOVE THESE BOOKS”

seriously if you dont have both these books 5 starred im going to be aggressively pelting your house with cupcakes, dont test me

flower watercolour

a5

both these books are: messed up, guaranteed to cause trust issues, why are people such freaks?

flower watercolour

a6

the main themes in both these books are how family is #1 and thats a trope i will support till i die

why dont we have more healthy, beautiful, annoying sibling dynamics in YA??!!?? the world wants to know

flower watercolour

a7

okay wow both these books broke me

like if you want your soul ripped out of your body and to be turned into a lifeless potato once you finish, pick these up πŸ‘Œ

flower watercolour

a8

theyre both creepy middle grade books that are wonderfully charming in their ghostly ways

and since everyone’s looking for creepy reads in october πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

flower watercolour

a9

both these books feature GREAT representations of teenagers with schizophrenia (from the ownvoice reviews ive read). honestly theyre both written so well and are such fantastic, short, addictive reads

highly highly recommend

flower watercolour

a10

okay both these books will save your slump (if youre in one) theyre so fun with their banter (ENEMIES TO LOVERS) and mysteries and the friendship dynamics 😭😭 so good you guys

flower watercolour

i’m going to spare you guys anymore and stop right here. BUT if you have read any of these, let me know! i’d love to hear your thoughts

and i’d love to here some books that you would recommend based off a favourite.

 

see ya,

mayy

24 thoughts on “Top 10 ‘If you Love…’ Book Recommendations (but part 2)”

  1. I LOVE YOUR RECOMMENDATIONS YAY thank you for writing these down! ❀ I LOVED both My Life Next Door and Far From The Tree so your recommendations are ON point. Not that I was doubting, I would never πŸ˜€
    I really enjoyed Emma Mills' First and Then, so all of her books are on my TBR and apparently I need to make some room for This Adventure Ends as soon as I can…. I can't wait!!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahhhh, thank you so much. recommendations seem to be my strong suit πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ it may be becoming a problem at this point.

      I CANT WAIT TO SEE WHAT YOU THINK OF THIS ADVENTURE ENDS
      its one of my absolute FAVOURITE books and its just so soft and funny and precious. i hope you love it when you read it (and i need to hear all your thoughts ❀ )

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s NEVER a problem, I LOVE YOUR RECOMMENDATIONS. My TBR does not but I DO and it’s all that matters πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
        I’ll let you know for sure whenever I read it, it sounds amazing ❀ ❀

        Like

  2. i still kinda…can’t believe you liked The Supervillain and Me?? but i’m not mad about it.

    here are the recommendations i will take from you: The Art of Feeling (love emma mills), Sometimes I Lie (didn’t elise love-rant about this book a while back), and City of Ghosts (MAYBE. i’m still a chicken about picking up more schwab books)

    thanks for this lovely post, you recommendation machine you

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahhh I LOVES YOU

      it seems we’re always on opposite sides (except for the raven king) but also a 3 star from you isnt THAT BAD SO ILL TAKE IT

      i need to hear ALL the thoughts about the art of feeling, one of my FAVOURITE books to exist and omg city of ghosts was so much fun, i cant wait to hear your thoughts ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I should have expected This Adventure Ends and The Art of Feeling but somehow………I did not see it coming

    okay I’m definitely going to have to read Sadie now (especially after a dream I had about me getting a review copy that did not actually happen ???? I was sad when I woke up)

    also I can’t believe you’re making all these fancy graphics and actually blogging I’m so proud of you rat

    Liked by 1 person

    1. the duck is proud of the rat, this is a fine moment in history :’) its a work in progress honey, i still take years on posts

      BINCH YOU NEED TO GET ON BOTH OF THEM RIGHT NOW AAAAAAAA I WILL LITERALLY AGREE TO A DEAL IF YOU READ THEM (what am i getting myself into)

      ????why do you literally dream about getting arcs??? ….thats so….cute…

      also come back to blogging thx

      Like

  4. Ok buy I am SO HAPPY you recommended The Art Of Feeling because people don’t talk about that book enough? And it’s so? GOOD.
    Eliot and Sam are babies. I just. The book was so fluffy but also it broke me but it also wrapped me in a blanket and gave me pizza?
    I’m definitely going to check out A Study In Charlotte because I lived for SJTR’s banter.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YOURE LITERALLY MY FAVOURITE PERSON EVER!!! next to NO ONE knows about it and its the saddest tragedy. my babiessssss 😭😭😭😭 i reread it a couple months ago and it hurt and made me laugh just as much as the first time :’)

      ill cry if you love it (in a good way) bc that series and those characters are my hearttt

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s even better the second time around because you just somehow enjoy the dialogue even more? I mean, Eliot is so salty and snarky and Sam is this fierce crutch attacking cinnamon roll who “slaps people who aren’t nice to Eliot” and I LOVE their dynamic so much.
        I mean, Eliot WikiHow’d FRIENDSHIP and went door to door looking for that couch and Sam gave him that jacket and vowed to protect him and just. I’m soft. I’m so violently fond of these characters.
        Also, TITO, May. TITO.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I DONT KNOW WHY THIS MESSAGE WENT INTO THE SPAM BOX IM PERSONALLY OFFENDED BY THIS (wordpress couldn’t handle the cuteness that is sam and elliot)

          BUT SERIOUSLY YOU’RE MAKING ME WANT TO REREAD OH MY GOD HE WIKIHOW’D FRIENDSHIP. the couch scene is why im still single like i refuse to spend any minute with any human that wont go dumpster hunting for a dirty, ugly, second hand couch, these are my standards

          you remember the scene towards the end when she was pissed at him and she was TRYING TO WALK HOME EVEN THO IT MAKES HER LEG HURT SO MUCH AND THEN SHE WENT IN THE CAR AND HES LIKE ‘YOU’RE GOING TO GET TIRED OF ME, THEY ALL DO’ IM PRETTY SURE PEOPLE IN AUSTRALIA COULD HEAR MY HEART CRACK

          AND WHEN SHE SLEPT OVER AND SHE WANTED TO RELIVE THE ACCIDENT AND HE BROUGHT HER PILLOWS AND CUSHIONS AND NEEDED SOMETHING TANGIBLE TO DO OTHERWISE HE FELT USELESS jflkdajflajflajfla my heart is screaming (also soz for the caps lock, what happened there, may omg im gonna stop now before you block me)

          Liked by 1 person

          1. ok, i KNOW i need to stop adding to this thread but may you GET IT. I’M SO HAPPY that you remember all those tiny details.
            the car scene where eliot was like, “i’m waiting for your timer to go off” yeah you know what went off? my faith in every single member of the male species because eliot isn’t real and honestly, rude.
            do you remember that scene after sam emerges from her depression hole and drags eliot to macdonalds and makes him realize that it was she who screwed up and as a friend who’s had previous experience in friendship, he should just take it from her that it wasn’t eliot’s fault? that scene was so soft because eliot was actually trying not to cry.
            also, the guy tried to bake a cake for himself on this birthday, can i get gordon ramsay here to make a goddamn cake STAT.
            you’re actually making me reread all of my highlighted taof quotes and i’m blessed tbh. ok i’m gonna stop ranting before YOU block me lol. ❀

            Liked by 1 person

            1. CAN WE JUST NEVER STOP REPLYING TO THIS THREAD BC IT JUST MAKES ME HAPPIER AND HAPPIER TO FIND A SOUL SISTER WHO LOVES THE ART OF FEELING AS MUCH AS I DO TRULY A MOMENT IN HISTORY

              THE FACT THAT ELIOT ISNT REAL IS THE RUDEST PART ABOUT THE BOOK TBH oh God my SON WANTED A CAKE FOR HIS BIRTHDAY AND ALMOST BURNT HIS HOUSE DOWN WHAT A PRECIOUS and that TIME WHEN SAM WAS LIKE TEXT ME EVERY HOUR AND HE TOOK IT LITERALLY OH MY GOD WHAT A LEGEND

              ALSO CAN WE TALK ABOUT THE “TALK” REX GAVE ELIOT IN THE CAR I WAS ACTUALLY HOWLING OMG REX AND SAM’S DYNAMIC TOO LIKE I AM WEAK FOR A GOOD BIG BRO AND LITTLE SIS BANTER

              IM SORRY IT SEEMS MY CAPS IS LOCKED WHEN IM TALKING ABOUT MY FAVOURITE BOOKS im not crazy i swear

              i just remembered tito and now i wanna curl into a ball and cry myself to sleep wow

              Liked by 1 person

              1. you know what, this conversation just ignited that dork in me who loves to shove books in people’s faces so i’m going to go ahead and write a post on why everyone should read this gem of a book. i always kinda regretted not reviewing it when i read it but i shall rectify that.
                also, i shall leave you with this:

                “All right,” Rex sinks back out of sight, dazed. “It’s what I’ve always said, Sam. You can date a pussy, just don’t date a dick.”
                “So you wanted Sam to be a lesbian,” says Eliot politely.
                ———-
                you’re welcome ❀

                Liked by 1 person

                1. hhahahh that JUST so happens to be my favourite type of person (especially when theyre shoving them top quality books in my face)

                  I
                  LOVE
                  YOU
                  AAAAAAAAAAAAA
                  ELIOT OH MY HEART

                  Like

  5. Oh I love this post!! I always love getting new book recommendations (even though my Goodreads TBR is literally at 300+ books LMAO…shhh). I actually haven’t read any of these books from this list, but I’m really excited to read To Kill a Kingdom and Sadie!! 😍 And actually, I think I DNF-ed My Life Next Door, haha. πŸ˜… I might try to pick it up again though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. our tbrs are ridiculous and yet we still keep adding to them what a mess πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      ahhh i cant wait to hear what you think of them!!

      lol, it definitely is a throwback book, good luckkkk if you end up doing it ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this list!! Omg I got so excited when you mentioned Renegades because I just bought it a few days ago but then got crushed when you said it was a tragedy πŸ˜­πŸ˜‚ The Lunar Chronicles are indeed a masterpiece so it sucks her new book didn’t live up to it. But now I have a new recommendation, The Supervillain and Me, so it’s all good haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahhh nooo. if you go in with low expectations it might surprise you. maybe?? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ honestly i do hope you enjoy it better than i did, but if thats not the case, i hope you LOVE the supervillain and me :p

      thanks bby ❀

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s