Monthly Wrap Ups

March Wrap Up: 5 star reads + april high fantasy month tbr

month wrap up final

hi friends,

april is upon us and i dont know about you all, but this never-ending winter weather that we’re facing has used up its time. it’s got to go!! i love winter and all but it’s starting to cross over into spring and i just need to be able to go outside and read in the grass before the summer bugs start attacking me

but no one came to listen to me complain so i’m going to jump straight into talking about books bc i remember exactly 0 things from march.

i found so many new favourites/5 star reads this month i am shocked. actually, my march has been pretty amazing in regards to books not movies though, hehe, i only watched like two

flower watercolour

I read a total of 20 books. 6 physical books 📕, 8 e-books 📱, & 6 audiobooks 🎧
YARC reads will be represented with this emoji: 🍚 you can track my progress and mini reviews HERE

Links will take you to my reviews for each book.

Image result for the bear and the nightingale coverImage result for the test by sylvain neuvel Image result for invisible ghosts Image result for the blood of olympus coverImage result for one day in december cover

 

 

 

🎧 The Bear and the Nightingale: ✦✦✦✦✧ (3.5 stars)

this series is so beautifully written. the characters are so well developed. the plot took some time for me to really get into but once it did, i was so invested in the story

📱 The Test: ✦✦✦✧✧ (3.5 stars)

this short story was sooooo messed up. it really makes you stop and think but i just wish it was a full length novel. i feel it could have had such a stronger impact that way

📱 Invisible Ghosts: ✦✦✧✧✧ (1.5 stars)

i,,,didn’t like this. not anything necessarily wrong with it but it just felt flat for the majority of the book

🎧 The Blood of Olympus: ✦✦✦✦✧

i !!!finally!!! finished this series. i love these characters so much, i want to adopt them all

🎧 One Day in December: ✦✦✦✦✧

i was pleasantly surprised by this book. not only were the narrators amazing but it was really entertaining to follow. and the ending made me feel all fuzzy

flower watercolour

Image result for skyward by brandon sandersonImage result for the loneliest girl in the universe cover

Image result for daisy jones and the six cover

Image result for the assassin's guide to love and treason cover

Image result for map of salt and stars cover

 

 

 

 

📕 Map of Salt and Stars: ✦✦✦✦✧ 🍚

guys i dont know what to tell you about this book other than READ IT RIGHT NOW PLEASE. it’s about the syrian crisis and my goodness, the writing, the prose, the descriptions, it’s so raw and painful.

i’m absolutely floored by this one

📕 An Assassin’s Guide to Love & Treason: ✦✦✧✧✧

i can see why readers would enjoy this book but the story just seemed very relaxed while really intense things were going on. and……i didn’t feel anything for the ship soz

📱 Daisy Jones & the Six: ✦✦✦✦✧

this book is so dramatic and realistic and i dont understand how these people aren’t real bc taylor jenkin reid writes in such a detailed way, i thought i was reading a documentary.

📕 The Loneliest Girl in the Universe: ✦✦✦✦✦

I DONT KNOW WHERE THIS BOOK CAME FROM BUT MY GOODNESS I LOVE IT

it was so fast paced and easy to read, i flew through it in one day and there were moments when i was shaking bc of how intense it got. wow, im so impressed with this book

also extra points for being set in space

📱 Skyward:✦✦✦✦✦

brandon sanderson could publish his shopping list and i would 5 star it. what is this guy doing to write like this??? is there anything he CANT write??

absolutely a new favourite

flower watercolourImage result for the girl in the towerImage result for a curse so dark and lonelyImage result for the child finderImage result for 96 words for loveImage result for first and then cover

 

 

 

🎧 The Girl in the Tower: ✦✦✦✦✧

i actually enjoyed the sequel more than the first book. i felt the stakes were higher and the plot was more complex. i was more attached to the characters

(book 1 helped build the setting and conflict but this book was more entertaining)

📱 A Curse so Dark and Lonely: ✦✦✦✦✦ (4.5 stars)

this was just a fun, fast read. i love retellings of all sorts but i felt like this one was my favourite beauty and the beast retelling.

it was engaging, the characters were precious, and even though it wasn’t huge on world building, every aspect of it was just so charming, i couldn’t help but adore it

🎧 The Child Finder: ✦✦✦✦✦

Rene Denfeld has easily become one of my favourite mystery/thriller writers. She writes magic and i am enchanted.

📱 96 Words for Love: ✦✧✧✧✧ 🍚

i really couldn’t stand the characters in this book. they felt so one-dimensional and it was really romance heavy. there were sensitive issues brought up towards the end of the book and they were solved much too quickly in my opinion

eh, wasn’t for me

📕 First and Then: ✦✦✦✦✦

I’M AWARE THAT THIS OBJECTIVELY ISN’T A FLAWLESS BOOK BUT I DON’T CARE BECAUSE IT MADE ME SO HAPPY and it was SO cute and i LAUGHED and it’s emma mills, do you really expect anything else from me?

flower watercolour

Image result for emergency contact coverImage result for beauty of the beast by rachel l. demeter

Image result for you are a badass cover

Image result for the bone witch cover goodreads

Image result for the book of m cover

 

 

 

 

The Book of M: ✦✦✦✧✧ (3.5 stars) 🍚

the premise of this book was so interesting. I went in completely blind and i was captivated for the majority of the book. the plot twist was amazing but my biggest issue lies with how open the ending was.

i had so many questions and none of them were answered and i just,,,,,,want my answers

📱 The Bone Witch: ✦✧✧✧✧ 🍚

i’m sorry, i dont even know what happened with this book. really didn’t work with me.

🎧 You are a Badass: ✦✦✦✧✧

this was pretty good. overall it was a good reminder for what most of us already know, theoretically, on how to get our life together. it did offer some new perspectives on some things, so it was pretty good.

📱 Beauty of the Beast: ✦✦✧✧✧

uhhhhh, this felt really cheesy and excessively long. the plot took forever to start

📕 Emergency Contact: ✦✦✦✦✧ 🍚

i honestly went into this book thinking i was going to hate it and LOOK at us now!! emergency contact was so entertaining to read, i loved how realistic the characters were, the majority of the story takes place in a cute little cafe, there is in-book texting

!!!!what more do you want!!!

flower watercolour

and that wraps up my reading month.

lets talk about april.

okay so i dont know why but i took it upon myself to do this but i’m challenging myself in April to read predominantly high fantasy it was supposed to be exclusive high fantasy month, but i am a contemp trash and i cannot live without my contemps, so i had to make some exceptions

the whole idea behind this was that i really LOVE books that are immersive and detailed and complex with their magic systems but i tent to shy away from high fantasy due to their length and theyre freaking scary, okay have you seen how big some of those series are??? absolutely terrifying

but i figured it’s time to face my fear also some of them are so hyped and excuse me?? i need to get in on that excitement too and the best way i thought would work for me would be to just power through a whole bunch

you know, get me in that mind set and all

so, if you care to know, my very loose april ~*TBR*~ i know, i never do tbrs but i’m trying to motivate myself with some sort of accountability for this month is going to be:

Image result for elantris cover Image result for warbreaker cover Image result for lies of locke lamora coverImage result for the way of kings cover

 

 

 

 

Image result for red sister coverImage result for assassin's apprentice cover Image result for shadows of self coverImage result for the fifth season cover

 

 

 

 

can you hear me cowering in fear of this TBR?? i am terrified that all this high fantasy is going to slay my existence and my will to read but

am i really going to give up a chance to challenge myself?? the answer is no.

but for real, let me know if you guys have read any of these books, i’d love to know your thoughts on them.

flower watercolour

how was your march? are you excited for spring? have you read any high fantasies and if so, which were your favourites trying to compile a list here?

that’s all i have for this month. i hope you’re all doing well and reading your life away,

mayy

39 thoughts on “March Wrap Up: 5 star reads + april high fantasy month tbr”

  1. Wow! You’re definitely taking the plunge with high fantasy this month! Good luck. I like fantasy myself but I haven’t yet read ANY of these yet. I own The Lies of Locke Lamora and The Fifth Season though. It takes me longer to get through fantasy because most of them are such a commitment and I’m a mood reader.

    One Day in December was one of my favorite reads over winter. I also listened to the audiobook and I enjoyed the female friendship aspect the most.

    Like

  2. I’m so happy you had an amazing reading month! 20 books, that’s wonderful! I’m so glad you enjoyed The Bear and the Nightingale and Emergency Contact cause they’re my faves ❤️ In book texting is the best!

    Watbreaker’s one of my favorite high fantasy books! I also love Theft of Swords by Michael J. Sullivan, cause it’s more fast paced and entertaining than a lot of other books I’ve tried in the genre. And it’s got the best friendship, which I’m trash for.

    Like

  3. Ahhh yes I’m all ready for spring to come and to read outside without the heat and bugs attacking too much, definitely with you on that haha.
    You had such a great reading month that’s so great! I AM SO HAPPY you liked Emergency Contact, this book has such mixed reviews, but I personally adore it with all my heart ❤ And the loneliest girl, this book was one hell of a ride, RIGHT I can't get over it, it surprised me so much!!
    I hope you'll have a lovely April ❤ ❤

    Like

  4. March was such a great reading month for you! I hope April will be just as good :)) And same, I’m also super excited for spring 😍

    Like

    1. just randomly butting in here but i would like to report that she said she’s not reading any more books if any of the 7 die 🙂

      Like

  5. Wow you read 20 books that’s impressive!! I think I would need magic to do that haha!!
    And you had some good reads as well which is always great– I have heard good things about the loneliest girl in the universe. I will have to pick it up one day. Also emergency contact is high on my TBR so I hope to get to that soon. I am glad you enjoyed it, it makes me more excited to read it!!
    I have heard good things about the high fantasies on your list– I need to try some Brandon Sanderson books. And I will be reading the lies of locke lamora soon and I am very excited. Hopefully we will both enjoy it!!
    I hope you have a wonderful April!! ❤

    Like

  6. hi, i’m back from hibernation, i missed ya (and this blog).
    it’s honestly been so long since i last read the heroes of olympus series, i NEED TO REREAD IT omg. i remember my brother and i used to debate all the time on who would die in the last book lol. i miss the crew.
    esdlblknmgf you READ EMERGENCY CONTACT, i’m frankly offended that you thought you’d hate it bc the book is so fluffy and cute and there’s baking and soft conversations,,, but i’m glad you loved it ❤
    i'm so excited to read skyward, i've heard ONLY good things about it and i KNOW it's going to be a banger.
    ok may, i love you, but THAT TBR IS GIVING ME ANXIETY BC OMG one month of 6 epic fantasy books,,, i'm in literal shock but ik you can do this, blink when you need to be kidnapped and that shall be done, worry not, and you shall also be supplied with a fluffy contemporary

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i missed you MORE how dare you leave me here alone with never-ending-tbrs and books that cause me pain?? (it’s okay i always forgive you)

      the crew is so smol and soft and even though theyre pretty much adults at this point, i still want to pretend theyre my little children.
      I HAVE SEEN THE ERRORS IN MY WAYS. honestly the low expectations i went in with was probably the best bad choice i ever made bc i loved it infinitely more
      ugh baking and writing and soft boys who pretend to be bad boys??? im weak
      SKYWARD IS SO GOOD. its a bunch of sarcastic nerds in space and it’s just wow i CANT WAIT FOR YOU TO READ IT

      it’s giving me stress and anxiety too i dont know why im doing this. so far i’ve blinked like 16 times, this is a cry for help
      but hey, i finished one high fantasy book already hehe wow being a social recluse has finally worked in my favour

      Liked by 1 person

      1. i always gotcha when it comes to screaming about never ending tbrs :’)

        so i just finished skyward like 6 minutes ago because i couldn’t RESIST “sarcastic nerds in space” and actually started reading it this morning in the middle of my physics lecture (it was super boring ok) and now I can’t function bc um I NEEDTO READ MORE BRANDON SANDERSON

        i’d offer my surprise and awe at you for already having finished one fantasy book but like that would require me being actually surprised and i’m not because you’re a genius and i know it

        Like

  7. I’m honestly so happy to hear you liked Emergency Contact because I’ve had the ebook sitting here for months but I’ve been reluctant to start it!! For some reason I expected to hate it too (I think because of some negative-ish reviews??) but hearing your praise for it has me wanting to give it a try. And oooh I’m wishing you all the luck with those high fantasy books this month! I usually love high fantasy but at the same time it can be… super intimidating. Hopefully you end up enjoying those💕💕 great wrap up May!

    Like

  8. I’M SO GLAD TO SEE THAT YOU LOVED THE LONELIEST GIRL! That one really took me by surprise a few months ago as well. It was so fresh and actually contained a lot for such a small book. The main character was brilliant too!

    I’m also glad to see that you enjoyed A Curse So Dark and Lonely because I bought that one last month and I’m looking forward to picking it up.

    Love your plan to try and have a high fantasy reading month. I have a feeling based on my mood and book picks so far in 2019 that it’s going to be a bit of a high fantasy year of reading for me! I can’t wait to see what you think of Elantris. As my first Brandon Sanderson I really enjoyed it, but I know people who have read his other books first tend to see it as a lesser favourite. I’ve also never read a Robin Hobb book…I think the one you’ve picked might be the one on my shelf, though!

    I’m glad you had such an amazing reading month! I’ve yet to hit a 5* read this year yet, so I’ve got my fingers crossed for April!

    Like

  9. Omg, reading outside in the grass sounds amazing. 🌞

    Ahh, I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed Emergency Contact! I’ve been wanting to read it ever since it released and I’ll definitely have to move it up on my TBR now. 🙂

    Girllll, I so feel ya on the intimidating length of high fantasy! Like I love fantasy, that they’re such a commitment and there are so many of them! I’m currently reading The Witchwood Crown by Tad Williams and while it’s interesting, it’s 720 pages with tiny font and probably going to take me a month to get through. It took me a solid week to work up the nerve to pick it up alone. And we’re not even gonna talk about how I still have yet to read Kingdom of Ash…

    BUT you got this on your fantasy TBR! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Red Sister and The Fifth Season–I also still need to read those books!

    Happy reading! I hope you have a fabulous April! ❤

    Like

  10. i haven’t been a part of the blogosphere in FOREVER but ofc i had to come back and comment on one of your posts!!

    OMG YOU FINISHED HEROES OF OLYMPUS AAHHH I LOVE THAT SERIES (+ PJO) SO MUCH 😭💙 i miss my favorite demigods dearly (esp Percy, Nico, and Leo)

    YES EMMA MILLS IS THE BEST!!!!! i’m going to read Famous in a Small Town soon and I CANNOT WAIT 😍💖

    good luck with reading predominantly high fantasy this month, i hope you enjoy most of those books!! you’re so brave hahah, i could never (i love my contemporaries too much 👀 and high fantasies intimidate the heck out of me too) I BELIEVE IN YOU THOUGH, YOU GOT THIS MAY 💞 wonderful post as always!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. dezzy i love you sm omg my heart can’t take it 💖💖 i seriously can’t believe that i’m done heroes of olympus and now im putting off the continued series bc IM SCARED for my kids and if i dont know what happens, then theyre all safe right???

      I NEED TO HEAR YOUR FINAL THOUGHTS ON FAMOUS IN A SMALL TOWN!!!!

      thank you so much my sweet, so far i’ve only read 2 high fantasies (hehe oops) and i enjoyed them both so much, just got to kick up the pace. right, theyre SO intimidating but im tryinggg here 💖💖💖 your support means the world to meeee

      Liked by 1 person

  11. may, you need to tell me how you read so much because i’m still mind blown. like how???

    i’m so glad you enjoyed one day in december and daisy jones, they were both super fun reads that i really loved. i have first and then on my TBR this month so i’m super hyped!

    you’re absolutely killing your YARC challenge, and i’m here just so happy for you!!

    happy reading and best of luck with your april TBR!! have an amazing april!

    Like

  12. okay totally convinced there is two versions of emergency contact one that’s really good and one that is trash and that’s why people either hate or love it. right?? but i’m really happy you liked it!! also good luck on the high fantasy!! looks scary and intimidating!!! and i could never do that.

    Like

  13. I love high fantasy but I would also be absolutely terrified facing that TBR for April, it’s A LOT for sure but I really hope you enjoy it! I really need to get to Daisy Jones soon, because it really sounds like a novel I would adore, I’m so intrigued by it!

    Like

  14. It seems like you had an amazing reading month!
    I’m glad you finished Blood of Olympus and really enjoyed it. I miss reading about these characters, even if this series was my least-favorite by Rick Riordan. I feel like I haven’t read Rick Riordan in forever and I really can’t wait to get back into all of his phenomenal worlds.
    I am excited to pick up Daisy Jones and the Six. I’m currently reading The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and really enjoying it. I do feel like I’ll enjoy Daisy Jones & The Six more, though, because the premise of reading about band dynamics interests me sooooo much. Everyone has been raving about the audiobook too and I am excited to listen to it!
    I’m thinking that perhaps I’ll pick up Emergency Contact some point this month. I also am skeptical about it and thinking I’ll hate it, but hopefully I’ll be surprised as well!
    Wishing you a good April! 😊

    Like

  15. oh my gosh, “the bear and the nightingale” was such a beautifully woven story. within the first chapter, I wanted more. and the details! oh my gosh, I loved how the author told that story. I really want to read “emergency contact” (a.k.a. me hopelessly failing at YARC)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i’m so glad you loved it too!! it was so well written gosh it was magic.
      lol dude, i feel you, failing at YARC is my life rn. good luck and i hope you get to read emergency contact soon and that you love it!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment