Monthly Wrap Ups

November Wrap Up – 2018

month wrap up final

hello reading friends,

we wrap up another month and im fully shook at the thought that, we are in DECEMBER NOW!

when did this happen?? i demand to know.

november was a good month, i didn’t get as much reading done as the past months, but i anticipated that. i did, however, finish my 🎉🎉GOODREADS READING CHALLENGE!!!🎉🎉

im v proud of this accomplishment!

but the real reason anyone is here is for the wrap up, so here we are:

flower watercolour

I read a total of 15 books. 7 physical books 📕, 3 e-books 📱, and 5 audiobooks 🎧
Links will take you to my reviews for each book.

Image result for everything beautiful is not ruined coverImage result for waking gods cover Image result for herding cats cover Image result for escaping houdini coverImage result for shadow of the fox cover

 

 

📕 Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined: ✦✦✦✦✦

I LOVED THIS BOOK!

it’s SO underrated and we gotta fix that bc it’s one of the best contemporaries i’ve read that talks about family and depression and its genuinely hilarious

🎧 Waking Gods: ✦✦✦✦✦

This series is WILD. I can’t believe I haven’t heard about it more bc it has one of the greatest audiobooks i’ve ever listened to and the sci-fi plot is GENIUS

📕 Herding Cats: ✦✦✦✦✧ (3.5 stars)

i really enjoy these cute comics as pick-me-up reads and they never disappoint

i liked this one the least from the 3, but still such a fun, easy read

📕 Escaping from Houdini: ✦✦✧✧✧ (2.5 stars)

i…..don’t……know…..why……this…..happened

listen there are a few things worse than a love triangle, and that is a LOVE TRIANGLE THAT GETS INTRODUCED 3 BOOKS IN WHEN THE COUPLE ARE ALREADY TOGETHER AND ESTABLISHED AND HAPPY

ugh

📱 Shadow of the Fox: (buddy read with my fav, kat) ✦✦✦✧✧

definitely has its pros and cons. i enjoyed the book well enough. the characters are the japanese aspects were amazing. my main complaints lie with the pacing and the writing, but overall a good read

flower watercolour

Related image

Image result for my grandmother asked me to tell you she's sorry cover

Image result for why not me cover

Image result for muse of nightmares coverImage result for wedding night cover

 

 

 

🎧 Wedding Night: ✦✦✧✧✧ (2.5 stars)

this book was excessively drawn out. there’s only so long you can keep a funny, quirky story that lacks substance running

📕 Muse of Nightmares: ✦✦✦✦✦

i dont even know what i was expecting from this ending, but it delivered on all fronts, i’m so enchanted by laini taylor

🎧 Why Not Me?: ✦✧✧✧✧ (1.5 stars)

i REALLY REALLY REALLY wanted to love this but it just felt like strangely placed anecdotes that were,,,,,,unfunny.

im sorry

📕 My Grandmother Asked me to Tell You She’s Sorry: ✦✦✦✦✧

i’m going on a fredrik backman binge right now and this story was so cute and sweet and wholesome, i love little inquisitive children and grumpy loving grandmothers

📕 Grave Mercy: ✦✦✦✦✦

IM SO IMPRESSED WITH THIS BOOK!!

no joke, i was not expecting it to pull through but it did and i hear the series on progresses on awesomeness.

flower watercolourImage result for sharp objects coverImage result for am i normal yet coverImage result for britt marie was here coverRelated imageImage result for bear town cover

 

 

 

🎧 Sharp Objects: ✦✦✦✧✧ (3.5 stars)

this book was,,,,,,dark and creepy. it was an interesting thriller but it didn’t make me feel many emotions aside from disgust.

📱 Am I Normal Yet?: ✦✦✦✦✧

it took some time to make progress but when i did I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK.

so many wonderful conversations on friendship and feminism and mental health and self-love, really impressed.

📱 Britt-Marie was Here: ✦✦✦✦✧ (4.5 stars)

I think this is when i realized that fredrik backman is going to be one of my favourite authors. what a fantastic book

🎧 Anne of Green Gables: ✦✦✦✧✧ (3.5 stars)

you would not believe the amount of times i started this book as a child and never finished it. i’m glad i did, it was fun and entertaining

📕 Beartown: ✦✦✦✦✦

THIS BOOK GUTTED ME AND IM NOT OVER IT! HOW IS THE WRITING EVEN REAL, WHAT

flower watercolour

Image result for nanowrimo

in other aspects of the month, i pretty much flopped when it came to NaNoWriMo. i didn’t do much planning and i was going in with a ‘i’ll just wing it’ ideology,,,,,,yes, you guessed it, didn’t work very well

instead of starting a new story, i just couldn’t get out of the head-space my current WIP set me on, so i returned to it and, well at least i WROTE SOME DAYS.

ahem……..

nano
loooool

a failure, yes i know, better than nothing

i’m still working through my ending (i have around 20K words left) and i did manage to solve some issues, so there’s that BUT I DO REALLY WANT TO FINISH IT BEFORE THE NEW YEAR

Image result for everything is fine gif

SOMEONE HOLD ME ACCOUNTABLE FOR GETTING THIS MESS FINISHED BEFORE 2019

flower watercolour

let’s talk more about books:

FUNNY STORY, i request arcs on netgalley in a ‘i’m-probably-not-going-to-get-it-anyway-so-whats-the-harm’ way AND at this point in the month, i had DNFed the current ARC i was reading bc i JUST REALLY DONT LIKE THE FORMAT I HAVE TO READ IT IN and it was slumping me and i wasn’t really enjoying it

and so i was like, “no more arcs till 2019 when i get my ish together” bc i have a bad track record with finishing them on time

……do you know what happened the next day???

i literally got accepted for 3 arcs!!! why am i like this, someone save me from myself

anywho, these are the 3 ARCs that i now have to fit into my ~*december plans*~:

Image result for just for clicks cover Image result for i owe you one cover Image result for brief chronicle of another stupid heartbreak cover

 

 

 

 

 

that isn’t to say i’m not IMMENSELY grateful for being accepted for these arcs, bc i really really am GRATEFUL. useless complaining is just the thing that makes me ~*special*~

luckily, they are all books that i am interested in and sound pretty entertaining, so, we’ll see i guess *much stress*

flower watercolour

thats the closest to interesting my month got.

how was your november? did you stumble upon any few favourites? did you participate in NaNo? How did it go (i need some form of positivity, tell me about your success!)? How do you deal with the stress of arcs, asking for a friend?

 

thanks so much for reading this hot mess, i hope y’all are staying warm and eating your veggies,

mayy

43 thoughts on “November Wrap Up – 2018”

  1. ok i actually NEED to read everything beautiful is not ruined asap since so many people i trust love it omg. i was really looking forward to reading escaping from houdini after i get to hunting prince dracula, but i’ve heard so many sour things about the love triangle so i’m kinda worried, honestly.

    hey you still did a great job with NaNoWriMo so don’t beat yourself up about it. and i know you can definitely finish your book before new year go may go

    that being said, happy reading in december! i hope you find some new favourites ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. WHEN YOU READ IT, I NEED UPDATES AND SCREAMING SESSIONS!! escaping houdini is honestly such a disaster, i expected so much more and to throw a love triangle in book 3??? sis, this aint it. i hope you do enjoy it tho, i know it worked for some people but it was a big no from me

      YOURE MY FAV THANK YOU FOR THE SUPPORT ILY ❤ ❤

      i hope you have an ever better month in december ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I tried to participate in NaNo and omg, it was a Time. It lasted for about 2 days before I decided to break up with my WIP, which I’m now thinking about revisiting again, and ugh it was just one big existential crisis.

    and wow, 15 books! I miss the days when I could get through that many books in a month. I’ve been debating reading Shadow of the Fox because it came in two book subscription boxes I got in October but I haven’t heard too much about it so?? we will see.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. honestly what a MOOD! i cant open my file without going into an existential crisis so im right here right you. these books will get written (somehow) i BELIEVE IN US

      THANK YOU! i hope you enjoy it if you end up reading it, a lot of my friends really loved it.
      happy reading!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. YAY! To finishing your reading challenge!! 😀
    And haha! I’m the same when it comes to my ARCs! Damn, every time I think I caught up three new come in and I’m like: Woah! How’d that even happen?! O_o
    So I totally feel you! *lol* I hope those three will be awesome and will keep you entertained! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ayyy thank you so much!!
      RIGHT THEY NEVER STOP!! and its so exciting to get them but also v stressful
      thank youuuuu, i hope so as well and i hope you have an amazing december!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. “SOMEONE HOLD ME ACCOUNTABLE FOR GETTING THIS MESS FINISHED BEFORE 2019” is such a mood. 😭 I won NaNoWriMo after writing almost seven thousand words yesterday but I’m still nowhere near finishing this draft!

    And I deal with the stress of ARCs by… not requesting them. 😉 My NetGalley feedback ratio is currently at 100% and I plan to keep it that way forever. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😭😭😭 THESE WIPS ARE GOING TO BE THE END OF US
      wowoowow GOOD JOB! that’s amazing. youre one step closer to having that book done!!

      hahahahha, what a great piece of advice, im struggling to keep my ratio up, so much effort lol

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats on finishing your reading challenge!!! I’m so excited to read Muse of Nightmares, so I’m very happy to hear that it lived up your expectations 😊 Grave Mercy also looks amazing, I’ll have to add it to my TBR. Wonderful wrap up!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. YAY congratulations on your goodreads challenge, that’s amazing!! You read so much, I am so so so so very impressed ❤ ❤
    Also I'm SO happy you read and enjoyed Am I Normal Yet, I loved this one so much it's such a great book! ❤
    AND YAY for the ARCs, ahhhhhh you have Just For Clicks! I also have this book on my TBR, I got lucky enough to get approved early as well and I AM SO HYPED BECAUSE IT SOUNDS AMAZING 😀
    Best of luck for your writing, you can do this!!!! I'll be your cheerleader, you can do this!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AHHHH thank you SO MUCH!!!
      Am i Normal Yet was SO GOOD i was so impressed with how it handled so many topics!
      i can’t wait to hear your thoughts on just for clicks! it sounds like so much fun and im EXCITED to read it!!

      YOURE MY FAVOURITE CHEERLEADER EVER! thank you bby, youre way too kind ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. First off, congrats on finishing your GR Challenge!! Second off, who cares if you didn’t write as much for NaNo? You still wrote a lot and that’s what matters! Girl, we need to own our little accomplishments. Also, I wrote 0 words. So if there’s anyone here who needs to feel bad it’s me.
    But, ahem: GET THAT MESS FINISHED BEFORE 2019. There, now I feel supportive AND tough loving all at once (who woulda think one could do both?)
    Best of luck with December, hon, and DON’T STRESS. Everything will be great and fun and everything you hoped for ❤ Pinky promise 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahhh thank you so much!! youre too kind to me 😭😭😭 i dont deserve this!! but youre totally right, its the little things that pile up into something great!

      hahahah THANK YOU NOW I AM ENERGIZED TO GET THIS DONE!
      ❤ ❤ ❤ i hope you have an amazing december and it's as wonderful as you are

      Liked by 1 person

  8. YAAAAY CONGRATS ON THAT READING CHALLENGE MAY🎉 look at you go!! and congrats on participating in NaNo because that’s an accomplishment in itself & you should be proud for all the writing you did get done!!! You did amazing I promise❤️❤️❤️

    Also omg….. THE ARCS. I keep doing the same exact thing as you bc I always assume I’ll be denied but then suddenly I’m drowning in ARCs (which I’m endlessly thankful for but literally why do I request so many at once!!) and it’s just LOTS of stress. Here’s to hoping we can figure out how to stop doing that in 2019 lollll. ooh Just For Clicks sounds so fun though, I hope you love it!!

    This is a wonderful wrap up May, and I hope you have a great month ahead!! Good luck with the ARCs and the WIP, I’m rooting for you💕💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU SO MUCH DARLING!! youre too kind, what did i do to deserve all this sweetness 😭😭 ❤ ❤

      RIGHT?? its like we lowkey hate ourselves bc we NEVER LEARN and still go back for more lol good luck on getting through your arcs!

      thank youuuuu ❤ your support and kind words mean the world to me and i hope december is an amazing month for you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Congrats on your reading goal and all the books that you read this month!
    Oooh, so glad to hear that you enjoyed Grave Mercy! I read it many years ago and thought it was decent and now you’re making me want to go back and reread it so I can finish the series! 😄
    AND NOOOOO, you were NOT a failure at NaNo! 9K words is great accomplishment! I didn’t even attempt NaNo so I am highly impressed.
    And you can do it; you can finish your WIP before 2019! (also, can I ask what your WIP is about? I would love to know! ❤ )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!
      idek what did it for me, but i adored the heck out of every single page
      😭😭😭ahhh youre too kindddd, whatever would i do without you sweet kind, words? ❤

      OMG YES OFC
      so its historic and takes place in the middle east and its about a girl who's family was stolen away and sold into slavery when she was a child and she has made it her mission to be reunited with them and save them

      i know it SOUNDS SO ABSTRACT but if you care to read more about it, i wrote a (semi-coherent) post on it here: https://my1stchapter.wordpress.com/2018/02/25/4646/

      idek why im TELLING YOU TO READ MORE ABOUT IT BUT 🙈🙈🙈🙈

      anyways i hope your december is amazing ❤ ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awww, you’re the one who is too kind! 😊 Your comments are always my favorite! ❤ ❤

        AND OMG THAT SOUNDS SO COOL! I adored the post you wrote about it! ahhhhh, I can't wait to hear more about it in the future as you continue to work on it! (keep me updated!)

        And I hope you also have an amazing December! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Sounds like you had a lovely month! 15 books is amazing and CONGRATS on reaching your reading goal!!! I reached mine as well in November! (Look at us, finishing a month earlier! We are icons. jkjk ❤ I also really enjoyed Shadow of the Fox when I read it, and am glad to see that you liked Grave Mercy! I've had it on my tbr forever!

    I hope you have a wonderful December! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you soooo much!! ❤ ❤ ❤
      ahh congrats on finishing yours too!! we're honestly queens, im so impressed with us lol
      glad to hear you enjoyed it too! i hope grave mercy is a hit for you bc it was reallly good

      thank you, i hope youre december is incredible ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  11. What a awesome wrap up! Wish I can read as much as you. I’d have to agree with you when it comes to Escaping from Houdini, I was a bit disappointed and didn’t have the same spark as her previous books.
    However, I’ve heard great things from followers that I love about Shadow of the Fox. It’s definitely on my TBR but my list is so long that I don’t know when I’d get to it. 🤣
    I think you did amazingly well with your NaNo don’t be to hard on yourself ❤️ and congratulations 🎉 on completing your Goodreads goal!
    Hope you have a wonderful rest of the week and Happy Holiday Season.
    Always, Helena💋

    Liked by 1 person

    1. youre SO SWEETTTT!! thank you so much and omg yes escaping houdini was so lackluster im sad. i hope the next book isn’t so bad. i cant wait to hear your thoughts on shadow of the fox bc it is an enjoyable book!

      ahhh thank youuuu ❤ ❤ i hope you are having a december as amazing as you are ❤

      Like

  12. CONGRATS ON REACHING YOUR GOODREADS GOAL 🎉 🎉 🎉 🎉 🎉 🎉 🎉 🎉 🎉 (Yes, I know that is a lot of party emojis, but YOU DESERVE TO PARTY BECAUSE YOU DID AWESOME). Also, you’re my fav too, May ❤ ❤ ❤ Gosh, we’re so mushy. I love it.

    You know, I’ve been passively thinking of reading Sleeping Giants for awhile, but now that I know the audiobook is gold, I’m sold. I’m placing a hold on the audiobook at my library as we speak.

    ALSO, one of my goals for next year is to start writing my WIP. MAYBE WE CAN BE WRITING BUDDIES AND HOLD EACH OTHER ACCOUNTABLE AND STUFF. Or….maybe not. that’s cool too.

    In any case, it looks like you had a great month! I hope December is just as great 🙂 Thanks for such a great post (like always) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU I LOVE YOU ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ IM PROUD IF YOURE PROUD OF ME (ew, this is so sappy ❤ )

      omg i CANT wait to hear what you think of it bc that series is A RIDE and im currently waiting here for my library to get the audiobook for the final book bc I NEED TO KNOW HOW THIS ENDS!!

      um YES PLEASE, HOLD ME ACCOUNTABLE and also i need to hear more about this wip bc omg anything you write is gonna be on my fav list i already know!

      thank youuuuu ❤ ❤ i hope december is a fantastic month for you as well ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I am strangely relieved that you have similar thoughts on Escaping From Houdini.
    You remember when I first started reading it *literally months ago*? I still haven’t finished it because I couldn’t do it. It’s not DNF material, obviously, but I was slowly coming closer to Audrey making some VERY bad decisions and Thomas was going to break and I was so *angry* with Audrey that I literally couldn’t go ahead and had to keep it aside. I mean… I’m still going to read it because I need to read the fourth book but it’s not going to be pretty. I’m still so mad. I mean, WHY WOULD KERRI INCLUDE A LOVE TRIANGLE PLOT IN THE THIRD BOOK??? This is the time when things are supposed to be sorted out. *mad sigh*

    Anyway, I’m a little late for the party and I’m catching up on everything blog related finally but CONGRATS ON THE GOODREADS GOAL. 🎉🎉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oh God, I literally dont even want to think about how bad it was. my happiness and expectations? crushed in the most negative of ways.
      push onward, friend, bc it really doesn’t get better but im holding hope that book 4 will right all those wrongs (PLEASE) it was SO UNNECESSARY TO INCLUDE A LOVE INTEREST IN BOOK 3 AND THEN ALSO?? WHEN THOMAS?? IS YOUR LOVE INTEREST?? whats the point thomas is perfect??
      and audrey was SO UNLIKE herself, the book is a hot mess but x 16, i cant even deal

      thank you for all the comments you’re my fav and you make me all smiley and gross with your hilarious comments okay bye

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment