Tags

Sunshine Blogger Award!

sunshine-blogger-award

thank you so so so much to a darling little cupcake, dezzy, for nominating me in this super fun and cute award. if you don’t already follow her, you’re missing out on the most awesome posts, so you should rectify that RIGHT NOW.

i’m also like 6 months late for this but im trying

 

snowflakesRulessnowflakes

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  2. Answer the 11 questions the blogger asked you.
  3. Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
  4. List the rules and display the sunshine blogger award logo in your post/or on your blog
    flower watercolour

snowflakesWhat’s your favorite type of blog post to write, and why?snowflakes

Personally, I find there’s something really gratifying about writing wrap ups. maybe its bc I get to see everything i accomplished throughout the month or maybe not but I really enjoy writing them (even tho theyre exhausting as hell)


oh and discussion posts are always fun to write bc of the comments and discussions you can have with other bloggers but its rough to be expressive and eloquent for more than 3 sentences

flower watercolour

snowflakesDo you usually reread books?
Why or why not?snowflakes

if you asked me this last year, it would have been a hard no.

the idea of spending time on books you already read used to stress me out bc the whole “IMAGINE ALL THE NEW BOOKS I COULD DISCOVER” but after my schedule got really busy in the beginning of this year, i found that i craved comfort reads

so I ended up rereading A LOT and now i just dabble in it rereads every once in a while bc i do love to revisit my favs (see: illuminae files)

flower watercolour

snowflakesWhat’s a book that made you an emotional wreck and/or broke your heart?snowflakes

wow, im gonna have to make a looonngggg list for this. im not sure what level of disaster I have to reach in order to enjoy and cherish books that turn me into an emotional wreck, but if i gotta, my top 5 books (of more recent reads) would be:

  1. on the jellicoe road 
  2. the nightingale
  3. kingdom of ash
  4. a man called ove
  5. the book thief

(read them and cry with me)

flower watercolour

snowflakesWhat’s a book that brought you the utmost joy (you coulnd’t stop smiling after reading it)?snowflakes

this is SUCH a cute question

there are a lot of adorable books that make me feel like I swallowed a ton of skittles and own a unicorn (yes I happen to love sappy contemporaries) and the first author that comes to mind is basically anything Emma Mills writes

her books make you feel so content and satisfied and happy and soft and i enjoy books that offer some deep, emotional backstory along with the cute parts

flower watercolour

snowflakesStandalone books or book series?snowflakes

I CANT choose!!! 

so on one hand, I LOVE a good standalone that can create a world, characters, an in-depth plot, and a satisfying ending all within a few hundred pages.

but on the other hand, I adore series that take time and build complex characters and conflicts and you get to see how the characters grow over time

so,,,,,,Image result for both gif

flower watercolour

snowflakesIf you could unread a book, what would it be and why?snowflakes

uhhhh, total shade, most definitely im going to answer the pisces.

I guess this is what I get for not reading blurbs before picking up a book but it was NOTHING I was expecting

not only was the plot all over the place, the main character selfish and childish, but,,,,,,i was listening to it on audiobook and there was this (REALLY gross) scene that I was listening to while eating breakfast and I gaged 

hard pass.  

flower watercolour

snowflakesHow has your blogging style and writing voice changed since you first started blogging?snowflakes

honestly I haven’t been blogging for //that// long. its been like a year and a half (including my random 5 month ghosting sessions) and the only thing I can really say that I changed from the time I started till now would be my writing voice

I think I might have been more ‘happy and up-beat’ in my former posts (im too scared to check tbh) and now I literally just write off the top of my head like this is just how I speak irl

flower watercolour

snowflakesHow have your reading tastes changed ever since you started blogging?snowflakes

I remember when I started blogging I was ready to read EACH and EVERY book to exist on the face of earth

and now,,,,I’ve come to the realization that if a book doesn’t sound like im going to like it, chances are,,,,,,i’m not going to like it (this is the picky, critical, annoying side of me)

and im definitely more hesitant to start series now, too. the amount of series that I’ve started and never completed is A LOT, so I tend to only commit to books that are by my favourite authors or sound really interesting

flower watercolour

snowflakesHow did you discover your favorite author and/or favorite books?snowflakes

this is such a great question.

i honestly don’t even recall how i found my favourite authors. right now, i discover most of my favourite books through recommendations from my blogger/reviewer friends (who share similar tastes with me)

and ofc im always trying to keep up with the hyped books, and those can sometimes be really awesome 

flower watercolour

snowflakesWhat’s your favorite movie adaptation?snowflakes

TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE

I literally never watch movies, I find them so long and throughout the movie i’ll literally be like ‘when is this over I need to read’ 

however comma TATBILB was one of the first movies (in a while) that I REWATCHED bc I just loved it sm like its so cute and the acting is so good and ahdkfakjfh

flower watercolour

snowflakesList three favorite books and one song you associate with each of them!snowflakes

oh man, can i pass on this one. I don’t really listen to English songs (i know, who am i?) all that much and I most definitely don’t listen to them while i’m reading (which is all the time) bc they distract me

so, it’s either songs in a different language or just background noise for me :p

flower watercolourare y’all still here??? wow, that was a lot to go through. 

i’m going to be a rebel and not tag anyone bc well, I don’t know who was already awarded and I don’t want anyone to feel pressured and 😭😭😭

HOWEVER if you want to do this award, consider yourself TAGGED by me (yes, I tag you bc I think you’re a sunshine blogger) and here are my questions:

  1. What book brings back the fondest memories?
  2. Where is the craziest place you’ve ever read?
  3. Which book is closest to you right now?
  4. What is a book you could reread a million times?
  5. Is there any fictional character that you see yourself in?
  6. When is your favourite time to write blog posts?
  7. Have you ever read a book outside of your comfort genre that turned out to be a favourite?
  8. Name 3 books that you feel impacted you personally.
  9. What is the worst book to film adaptation?
  10. What is the longest book you read in one sitting?
  11. Lastly, and the most important question ever, do you like pineapple on your pizza?

OKAY IF YOU ANSWERED MY QUESTIONS PLZ TAG ME SO I CAN READ YOUR WONDERFUL ANSWERS (especially that last one 👀)

 

that’s all for now. have a great weekend,

mayy

24 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award!”

  1. I agree with you about wrap-ups, there’s something gratifiying about seeing what you’ve done the past month for sure … or maybe just read, because I don’t often like the talking about my life part hahahaha. I love seeing how much I’ve read and how it changes with each month and same for other bloggers, too. Plus it is a fantastic way to catch up with bloggers!
    I NEED TO READ ON THE JELLICOE ROAD. the fact that it’s so emotional makes me even more impatient.
    And yeeeeeeeeeees I can relate to that feeling about series, I am so hesitant to start new series at times, because what iffffffff they’re not that good and the commitment is just to much sometimes.
    AND MAY I NEED TO ASK. Do YOU like pineapple on your pizza……….? I’m curious now. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yes yes yes!! talking can be so difficult sometimes its just easier to make it all about books!!

      THE COMMITMENT and also the fact that they could be pumped with so much hype and then disappointment is going to be hanging around for a while lol

      I CANT WAIT FOR THE DAY YOU READ JELLICOE AND CRY WITH ME

      hahahahha, well see, im DEFINITELY a pineapple pizza girl and even though some of my friends (and family) think its gross ITS A BEAUTIFUL COMBINATION 😂😂 what do you think about pineapple pizza??

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I AM SO HAPPY RIGHT NOW. I was afraid you wouldn’t be a pineapple pizza person and… well, I AM ONE TOO, I love pineapple on my pizza too 😂 WE CAN BE PINEAPPLE PIZZA TEAM or something 😂 😂 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. YESSSS you are truly a ray of sunshine. this is evidence of the justice of the universe.

    same on wrapups, they are iDEAL and also same on rereading?? i used to never do it and then i did it a TON and now i am trying to calm the hell down and read a new-to-me book every once in a while for pete’s sake. & this makes me hyyype for A Man Called Ove. break my heart, book!!

    and i love your current blogging voice ❤ ❤ never randomly ghost for five months again ❤ (unless you feel like it in which case do you)

    also i am so sad you took the time to write all these lovely questions and didn't nominate anyone 😭 these questions deserve answers may 😭😭

    Like

  3. AHHHH! The Nightingale and KOA broke my heart as well. Still haven’t gotten over either of them, and I read The Nightingale in 2015!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fjldkjfla i CAN totally see that happening bc i just finished it last month and everytime i think about it i get all teary eyed, so i cant imagine how you feel FOR THE PAST 3 YEARS

      koa was such a fantastic ending 😭😭😭 i miss my kids so much!!!

      thanks for the lovely comment ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. what you said about your blogging voice being really upbeat and cheerful and now it’s just very on the spot frank? girl. GIRL. i felt that. i literally do not read my initial posts because dear god, i do not know that cheerful girl who speaks in exclamation marks. nimika whomst? don’t know her.

    same, i was never a fan of rereading books until a year ago but now it’s just the most comforting thing ever, y’know? like, if i’m busy or just really need to chill out for some time, i honestly just skim through my favorite parts of random books and it’s 10/10 good rereading content.

    tatbilb was such. a. perfect adaptation. not only was it cute and romcomish but it was SO TRUE TO THE BOOK. i was pleasantly surprised by the fact that so many scenes were directly adapted in the movie from the book. even the small, tiny details. i loved it.

    the most relevant content in this post is the pineapple on pizza question because i am SO glad you asked that. i’m almost afraid to know your opinion because if you’re against pineapple on pizza then i think this budding friendship is over soz (jk but really). at this point, it’s basically a running joke in my family and friends to abuse me about liking pineapple on pizza at every. given. opportunity. it’s a very, very hard life,, but i WILL fight you for pineapple on pizza- especially with jalapenos, hot damn- till my last breath if my mom says it’s okay around noon on a free weekend. (ง •̀_•́)ง

    Liked by 1 person

    1. everytime you talk my brain is just on a loop of YYYYASSSSS bc i agree with every word you said like honestly that’s the introduction, my 3 supporting paragraphs and my conclusion.
      im blocking my past self, join me and let’s leave those kids in the past.

      I LOVED THE TINY DETAILS AND THE ADORABLE FAMILY FJDLAFJLKA HER SISTERS AND HER DAD MY HEART I CANT DEAL

      OH MY GOD I CAN STILL LOVE YOU
      i was worried you were gonna go all ‘like-oh-my-gawsh-how-could-you-eat-pineapple-on-pizza-thats-disgusting’ BUT NO YOU CAME THROUGH
      literally same like i have to fite my brothers to get pineapple on half a pizza bc apparently ‘fruits dont belong on pizza’ but plot twist tomatoes are a fruit, case closed, son you lost

      we need to start a petition to stop the pineapple pizza abuse, its not right smh

      Like

  5. AHHH I LOVE YOU MAY YOU’RE SO SWEET AND KIND (no matter how much you deny it) 😭😭❤️❤️ also how do you manage to make me smile and/or laugh in every single one of your blog posts??? teach me your ways

    i loooved reading your answers to my questions, you answered them so well, i can’t even. i literally smiled SO much when you said “anything emma mills writes” to my question about a book that brought you the utmost joy, because i was LITERALLY thinking of foolish hearts by emma mills when i wrote that question. :’) 💖

    and if it wasn’t clear already, I LOVE your current blogging voice, never change!! (unless you want to ofc) you’re so chill and relatable af and funny without even trying, and i love that. (sometimes i feel like i’m trying too hard in my blog posts LMAO :’) ) but anyways, i digress. GREAT POST MAY, thank you so much for answering my questions!! 💓

    also is it bad that i’m now tempted to answer your questions even though you literally made this post to answer my questions?? 🙃 (i’m gonna do it, just watch…probably after like six months though) i’ll answer your last one right now though: ew no : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. DEZZY YOU TURN ME SO SAPPY I CANT DEAL afjldajfklja YOUR COMMENTS ARE ALWAYS THE HIGHLIGHT OF MY ENTIRE BLOGGING CAREER, EXPLAIN THAT MISS!

      omg sis we’re on the same frequency. im literally just answering every question (even unbook related ones) with ‘READ EMMA MILLS’ BOOKS, PLEASE’ but im so happy to find a kindred spirit

      AAAAAAAAAA THANK YOU FOR SAYING THAT BC SOMETIMES I FEEL LIKE IM COMING OFF SO ANNOYING AND OBNOXIOUS, girl YOUR blogging voice is so perfect like i cant even begin to say how wrong you are when ‘you feel like you’re trying to hard’ BC THAT AINT THE TRUTH

      that would be an actual DREAM bc i just want to read more of your posts and your thoughts and opinions, basically my favourite thing ever
      omg yOU HURT ME DEZZY, i am wounded from this attack on pineapple pizza, lets put it behind us and never bring it up again so i can go on loving your without being sad

      Liked by 1 person

  6. ooo this was such a fun post! your answers was honestly really interesting to read. i really wanted to read the book thief and i haven’t read it yet shame on me.

    i am also here to say that i stan pineapple on pizza, and it’s amazing. fight me lmao (please don’t physically fight me, i’m a small human being)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yes yes im SURE youre going to love the book thief, its such a heartbreaking book

      Y E S
      THANK GOODNESS! do you know how many people shame me for loving pineapple pizza 😂😂 it deserves all the love

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Eek I love this post! Also I have just discovered your blog and I love it dearly already.🙈

    I agree, wrap up posts are so fun?! I always have the best conversations with people in the comments too because we’re all talking about what we did in the month and it’s just a lot of fun. And I agree that discussion posts are also fun!

    THE BOOK THIEF MADE ME AN EMOTIONAL WRECK, TOO.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fjlkdajfla THIS IS LIKE AN HONOUR wow THANK YOU

      THE BOOK THIEF KILLED ME omg the ending and the whole book is so heartbreaking 😭😭

      thank you for your super sweet comment ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. OMG I AM NOW CONVINCED WE ARE EITHER a) the same person or b) best friends. everything u said is 10000% relatable and reflects my actual life and skfjlsjdf ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    Wrap-ups are so gratifying! u get to see everything u read that month and it's like, oh god i'm the least productive person ever but at least I'm still obsessed w books

    ++I used to NEVER reread books either but then I read The Foxhole Court and I’ve reread the series 3 times.

    alsoooo A man Called Ove!!!! I have that book on my shelf as we speak, but i'm so afraid to read it bc some of my friends say i'll hate it but other say i'll love it,,,but our book tastes are so similar I think i must read it

    (((((((i love your posts + you w all my heart)))))))))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i say yes to BOTH (if thats even possible) BC WHENEVER I READ YOUR POSTS IM JUST VIGOROUSLY NODDING MY HEAD AT EVERYTHING

      omg you and the foxhole court 😂😂 idk HOW you’re able to reread it ITS SO PAINFUL MALANIE HOW DO YOU KEEP TAKING THE PAIN

      i hope hope hope YOU LOVE it bc its such a cute wholesome book
      ahhhh thank you SO MUCH I LOVES YOU MORE AND YOUR BLOG IS ACTUAL PERFECTION SO MUCH SAP ❤ ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. slkjfds my TFC obsession is so real, i’m bringing my copy to thanksgiving & when they ask what i’m grateful for I’m going to grandly produce the book

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment